Your browser does not support JavaScript!

Delegate365 changelog version 6.2-license and further improvements

Delegate365 version 6.2 comes with some updates and improvements. See the new features described here.

  • License counting update: Delegate365 is licensed per user that shall be managed. There comes just one peculiarity with that: shared mailboxes and resources are delivered from the Office 365 interface as users. This causes that D365 counts such users (but only) if they are assigned to an OU as well although they do not need to have an Office 365 license. So, this can lead to uncertainty, why licensing in D365 can be different from Office 365. Again, this is only the case if the user objects are assigned to an OU in D365. For more information about that topic pls. see Delegate365 license information (Q&A 4 to 6). With the new feature this behavior can be compensated and is obsolete.
    The following graphics shows such a scenario where a shared mailbox “support” is assigned to an OU in D365 (and counts as a D365 user license).
    image
    We wanted to simplify that licensing in D365 to make it equal to Office 365 licensing in that specific case. With this D365 update, there come two new switches “Ignore shared mailbox users” and “Ignore resource users” in the administration / sync / sync options user region.
    image
    By default, these two switches are set to “No”. This means, existing users for shared mailboxes and resources stay in the users list, as it was before.
    If set to ”Yes”, this means that shared mailboxes and resources are ignored as “user” in D365. Such user objects that were existing in the users list will be removed from the users list. (No worries, nothing bad happens, they just no longer show up – and are not counted for D365 user licenses.)
    After the next SyncOp (of course, with “Use user sync options” switch to “Yes”), these user objects will no longer shown in the users list.
    image
    The shared mailbox “support” is gone from the users list.
    Of course, the object is still manageable in the more / shared mailboxes list and can be managed there. The same goes for the resources.
    image
    Our recommendation: Set both new switches to “Yes”. Usually there is no need to manage a shared mailbox or a resource in the same way as a user.
    With “Ignore shared mailbox users” and “Ignore resource users” activated, this saves D365 licenses.
  • D365 license check: See the D365 license status in the menu bar by opening the information (bell) icon.
    image
  • Create new users: The creation of a new user in D365 has been updated. The editing works as before…
    image
    After clicking “Save”, the provisioning starts. Now you can watch the various processes in real time. Now, D365 first checks if the UPN is available in the Office 365 tenant (and various other options) and only completes if all prerequisites are met.
    image
    This new behavior allows admins to immediately see if any issues occur during the user creation process. For example if the UPN was already used somewhere in the Office 365 tenant (as contact, alias or similar), the user creation could not be finished but the admin did not know what caused the problem. This now is transparent to the admin.
  • Resources OU assignment fixed: There was an issue in version 6.1 if resources were automatically assigned to an OU by a property during the SyncOp. The automatic OU assignment of resource did not work. This has been fixed with this version.
  • Automatic service communication check: D365 runs with service accounts that need to be valid for communicating with Azure Active Directory and Exchange Online. If, for any reason, these accounts are no longer valid (for example if the user object has been deleted or a password has been changed or similar), D365 now checks if it can communicate with the Microsoft interfaces. If not, alerts are shown in the menu bar. When opening the alert (triangle) icon, you see the details.
    image
    The same goes for the D365 AAD Service Account that is usually valid for two years. If the validity does not exceed one month in the future, you get an alert as well. The Service account’s expiration date will be shown in that case.
    image
    If you get such a warning and any of these two accounts is expired, D365 will no longer work (for any user).
    Please renew the Office 365 account or rerun the setup as said in the warning, simply follow the links.
  • Manual service communication check: Additionally, you can test the connectivity anytime in administration / configuration / office 365 account settings with “Test credentials”. In case of failure, alerts are shown:
    image
    Again, pls. renew the Exchange account in that case and re-test.

Delegate365 version 6.2 brings improvements and will be deployed to all existing productive tenants starting by 10th April during the following two weeks.